Beauty · Makup

Red Lip Ready!

Nothing says Holiday Season like a classic red lip. Here is a list of my top 5 favorite reds to get you in the spirit. There’s a little something for everyone on this list: dark shades, bright shades, drugstore, high end, liquid, balm and cream. So before your next holiday party grab one of these products and you just may end up under the mistletoe!

I would like to point out that these are my personal favorites, but as I will mention all these products have other red shades that may work better with your skin tone. A quick generalization for red lipstick is that ladies with fair skin look best in cherry, cranberry and wine shades. Medium tone girlies look best in orange-red and blackberry tones, and dark complexion babes look best in tangerine, maroon, and raspberry colors.

DSCN2376First on my list is Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick-Kate Moss Collection in shade 001. I love this one so much I’m wearing it right now! This is a deeper red color. Because I have fair skin and blonde hair I find that darker, more blue-toned reds look best on me. The formulation, creaminess and color pigment are fantastic in this range. And it has pretty good staying power too. If this shade isn’t right for you there are a few other reds shades in the collection – and for $8 at Ulta why not give it a try?

DSCN2381Next up is the Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in the shade Vampira. This is a deep reddish burgundy and its absolutely gorgeous! Once again this is me going to the darker red/berry colors. I will say that I own multiple colors of this lipstick and it probably my favorite liquid lipstick of all time. These go on wet and dry to a beautiful matte. In general Kat has amazing products, but these are the best in terms of color range, pigment and staying power.  Of the 29 shades 10 of them are in the red family so I guarantee you will find the correct shade for you! They are a bit pricey, at $20, but one-million percent worth every penny.

DSCN2378Third is my standby Maybelline Color Sensational Lipcolor in the shade Red Revival. Maybelline has re-done their lipsticks in the last few years and this new formula is much creamier and softer on the lips. I find these lipsticks in general are a go-to for a lot of people. I’m not sure why that is, but I assume it has something to do with the combination nice new formula, good color payoff, and great price (only $5!). So i guess it’s not surprising to say that I own this lipstick in many different colors.

DSCN2380Fourth on this list is the Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick in the shade Beso. This is a classic, bright cherry red color that definitely catches your eye. I would classify this as a liquid lipstick/stain. It goes on wet, dries matte and literally does not budge for hours. Once again these are a bit pricier, at $24, but if you are someone who doesn’t like to fuss and constantly re-apply lip color this may be a good one for you to check out.

DSCN2377Last, but definitely not least, is the Revlon Color Burst Lip Butter in Candy Apple. This is a great option for anyone who wants more of a sheer red color. It gives a beautiful red tint without being as bright as a traditional lip color. These really do feel like butter on your lips. I always recommend these for someone who wants color but doesn’t like to wear anything heavy on their lips. They are smooth and creamy and moisturizing. Once again for only $8 it’s definitely worth a trip to your local drugstore.

That’s if for me this week. Let me know what your favorite red lip product is!

Have a beautiful day.

xoxo, Anna

 

Leave a Reply

